Laughter is the Best Medicine

Every test in life makes me bitter or better; every problem can break me or make me.  The choice is mine to become victim or victor.  My attitude my choice.

Unknown

Sometimes if I didn’t laugh, I would cry.

My apartment, after having spent a lot of time cleaning it, is a mess again.

Sometimes it is really a bummer having depression and anxiety, being hypothyroid, having sleep apnea, and often times insomnia.  All of the above contributes to being tired so often.

But I really believe the statement about laughter being good medicine.  I have repeated this saying to myself many times in my life and find it absolutely true for me.

I have been thinking some funny things to myself about my messy apartment, and at least giving myself something to chuckle at instead of crying.

Who let the dogs out?  Someone must have let the dogs out, and they messed up my apartment again.  From the song Who Let the Dogs Out by the Baja Men.

Someone must have opened the ecto containment unit and let the ghosts loose, and they messed up my apartment again.  An ecto containment unit is from the Ghostbusters movies where they stored the ghosts after they were caught.

Someone must have gotten the gremlins wet and fed them, and they turned into little monsters, and they messed up my apartment again.  From the Gremlins movies.

Sometimes the thing I need to do is laugh at myself and not take myself too seriously.

Well, it’s time to get out my cell phone and use the countdown function again.  That’s how I got my apartment clean the last time.  I set the countdown function for 20 minutes each day to clean for 20 minutes, many times for longer.  Breaking my apartment cleaning down into smaller bits made it not so overwhelming.

Humor and laughter are infectious.  They draw people together and increase happiness.  When I see and hear someone laughing, I want to join in.

Humor and laughter boost the immune system, boost energy, diminish pain, and protect from stress. Laughter releases endorphins, which are the body’s feel good chemicals.

Even after I have a good laugh, I feel happier for a long time afterwards.

Where do pencils go for vacation?

Pencil-vania

What is it called when a cat wins a dog show?

A cat-has-trophy

What do you call security guards working outside Samsung shops?

Guardians of the Galaxy

Just like Eric Idle says in the song, “Always look on the bright side of life.”

Please shop My Amazon store.

Leave a Reply

